JEE Advance 2017 Eligibility Criteria

JEE Advance 2017 Eligibility Criteria: The JEE-Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) 2017 will be conducted by the seven Zonal Coordinating (ZC) IITs under the Joint Admission Board (JAB) 2017. Online registration starts from 28th April 2017 to 2nd May 2017 and you can also do registration until 4th of May 2017 with a late fee. Those aspirants who wish to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017 they must have to clear Paper-1 of JEE (Main) 2017 which will be held in the Month of April 2017.  It is a national level entrance test and through the JEE Advanced, 2017 examination candidates get admission in UG, PG and other courses in architecture, engineering, science or pharmaceutical offered by IITs and ISM. Aspirants are suggested to check the eligibility criteria before applying because JEE Advanced 2017 eligibility criteria inform JEE Advanced candidates about the essential qualifications in terms of the exam, age, fee etc.

Eligibility Criteria for Indian Nationals (Including PIO/OCI)

All the eligible candidates must fulfil each and every one of the following five criteria to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Criterion 1: Candidates should be between the top 2,20,000 (including all categories) by scoring positive marks in Paper-1 of JEE (Main) and percentages of various categories are:

  • For OBC-NCL: 27%
  • For SC: 15%
  • For ST: 7.5%
  • For all: 50.5%
  • For horizontal reservation is available for PwD (including Dyslexic) candidates: 3%

Category-wise distribution of top 2,20,000 candidates (Criterion 1):-

Category Number of “Top” Aspirants
OPEN 107,767 Total 1,11,100
OPEN-PwD 3,333
OBC-NCL 57,618 Total 59,400
OBC-NCL-PwD 1,782
SC 32,010 Total 33,000
SC-PwD 990
ST 16,005 Total 16,500
ST-PwD 495


Criterion 2: Aspirants should be born on or after 1st October 1992. Five years relaxation is given to SC, ST and PwD candidates and these candidates should be born on or after 1st October 1987.

Criterion 3: A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years. Therefore, candidates who appeared in JEE (Advanced) 2016 for the first time are also eligible for JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Criterion 4: A candidate should have appeared class XII (or equivalent) examination for the first time in either 2016 or 2017. However, candidates whose Class XII (or equivalent) examination Board results for the academic year 2014-15 were declared after June 2015 are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Criterion 5: A candidate should NOT have been admitted in an IIT irrespective of whether or not he/she continued in the program) OR accepted the IIT seat by reporting at a reporting centre in the past. The candidates whose admission at IITs was cancelled are also NOT eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Eligibility criteria for foreign candidates

Eligibility criteria for foreign candidates can be found through the given link:

Note: This web page is completely dedicated to the “JEE Advance 2017 Eligibility Criteria”. So, you can bookmark this page and visit here again to get the latest information on “JEE Advance 2017 Eligibility Criteria”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *